How to Ask Someone Out on a Date in Chinese

In this post, we will learn some useful Chinese phrases that will help you successfully landing a date with your dream boy/girl 。。。 hmmm..  I really shall set my foot in the matchmaking industry 😉

*(No gender biases were intended in the following dialogue)*

            zǒu wǒ qǐng nǐ hē kāfē
Boy:    走 ! 我请你喝咖啡!

Let’s go! I’ll get you a coffee!

wǒ xiǎng hé nǐ qù kàn diànyǐng
Girl:   我 想 和 你 去 看 电 影。

I want to go and watch a film with you.

tīng shuō nǐ diànnǎo huàile…
Boy:    听  说 你 电 脑 坏 了。。。
             xūyào bāngmáng xiū ma?
              需 要 帮 忙 修 吗?

I heard that your computer is broken down? Do you need help with it?

               wǒjiā de dēng huàile…
Girl:    我 家 的 灯 坏 了。。。
                kěyǐ bāng wǒ xiū ma?
               可 以 帮 我 修 吗?

The light in my house is broken down,  can you help me to fix it?

               zhè dào shùxué tí wǒ bù huì xiě
Girl:   这 道 数 学 题 我 不 会 写,
              kěyǐ jiào wǒ ma?
              可 以 教 我 吗?

I don’t know how to do this math question, can you teach me?

xīngqítiān wǒmen yīqǐ qù túshū guǎn dúshū
Boy:       星期天我们一起去图书馆读书。

Let’s go to the library to study together on Sunday.

xīnqíng búshì hěn hǎo
Girl :        心 情 不 是 很 好,
                   kěyǐ péi wǒ chūqù zǒu zou ma
                   可 以 陪 我 出 去 走 走 吗 ?

I am not feeling well (emotionally), will you accompany me for a walk outside?

   xīnqíng bù hǎo ma wǒ péi nǐ zǒu zou
Boy:    心 情 不 好 吗?我 陪 你 走 走!

                Don’t feel good  (emotionally)? Let me accompany you for a walk!

péi wǒ qù hè yībēi!

Girl: 陪我去喝一杯!Come and accompany me for a drink!

xiǎng chī shāokǎo ma  wǒ qǐng nǐ

Boy:          想吃烧烤吗?我请你!Want to have BBQ? Let me treat you!

hǎojiǔ méi chī huǒguōle  yìqǐ qù ba

Girl:好久没吃火锅了,一起去吧!

         Haven’t had hotpot for a long while, let’s go and have it!

  nǐ dàodǐ yuē bù yuē wǒ

Girl:  你到底约不约我?Are you ever going to ask me out for a date?

            nǐ gēnle wǒ ba

Boy: 你跟了我吧!Be mine!

One thought on “How to Ask Someone Out on a Date in Chinese

Leave a comment